LCM Legal Process Management

The holistic approach to optimizing of business processes between legal departments and law offices

Hiring of outside attorneys is a challenge in the corporate process. Firstly, it is important to respond to rising cost pressure in the legal departments, and secondly to ensure the expected quality and qualification for the particular mandate. The metrics for making the decision are:

  • Goal-oriented, legally appropriate council,
  • On-schedule and close communication
  • High cost-efficiency and verification

Legal Process Management (LPM) comprehensively supports and controls this process. Procedures can be developed here which act as genuine drivers or catalysts for improved cost controls while achieving the same or better quality. A permanent reduction in costs is guaranteed!

With the decision in favor of outsourcing, a permanent process of “selection – quality control – monitoring” has to be established. With LPM the corporate lawyers can permanently support this process by providing suitable information and assess it under financial aspects. According to the practical requirements:

determine – control – implement – evaluate

individual modules were integrated into one solution for this interrelated process, provided with a flexible correction control procedure for higher-order user control and supplemented with modern rating and evaluation functions.

The following individual process steps are integrated into the Best Practice Package "LCM Legal Process Management":

Legal Process Management – Client File

Beginning with the creation of a client file with the specific features for describing a client or commission, the foundation is laid for a smooth information chain in the LPM Not only is the typical master data on the client collected, but also the links needed for subsequent litigation, such as

  • Selection criteria on the law offices
  • Categories of needed expertise
  • Legal and accounting-based relationships (insurance, assistants, etc.)

Legal Process Management - Lawyer DataBase

The administration of outside lawyers in a central database considerably promotes the selection of an attorney when consultation is needed. Any number of law offices and their attorneys can be set up in a structured manner, assigned to individual technical fields including the particular level of know-how and associated costs per attorney managed. At the same time it is possible to evaluate the attorney’s service on a per-consult and per-subject basis. For example, finding, selecting and if necessary hiring of an attorney can be greatly simplified, e.g.

  • In Germany,
  • In the city of Frankfurt,
  • With expertise in “Trademarks,”
  • With “expert”-level know-how,
  • Hourly rates between 300 and 500 EUR/h
  • And a rating >= x

Thus a consistent and evaluable basis will be created for all attorney relationships from the corporate point of view.

Legal Process Management – Case File

The case file is aimed at different formats of legal disputes and provides for saving information, documents, schedules, templates and relationships in a structured format. For example, special types of files are already present as templates for civil litigation, damages or trademark litigation with their specific rubrics. Thus the system can check the files for completeness of data, parameters and information. The reduces time expense and makes time expended more efficient in litigation preparation through file searches, comparison of documents and analysis of master data. Whether it be files, documents and contracts – all circumstances can be recorded, administered and evaluated.

The representation and configuration of all active and passive processes is particularly important, together with their relevant litigation value; these are the processes which are of fundamental importance to the corporation. Precisely at this point a linkage to integrated risk management is important in order to determine, assess anticipated costs (case costs, additional consulting, outside consultants, trial delays etc.) both in advance, and also during the litigation and to provide all necessary decision-makers with facts and information.

Legal Process Management – Performance planning and check

Depending on the structure of the contract, invoicing for services can be prepared by the law offices in monthly or in other convenient cycles and then audited by the corporation. The defaults can be programmed into the system with specific service periods or with expenditure planning and then compared to reported expenses. Confirmation of services is fast and easily communicated by means of fast reports which can be permanently recalled for an overall viewing.

Legal Process Management – Rating

Like the rating systems known from eBay, Amazon and others, you can set up your own personal evaluation categories based on your specific criteria and scoring system and have them administered by your own organization. The individual approach and structured opportunity to set up so-called "hard" and "soft" criteria is the basis for an assessment scheme independently of the particular case, industry or type of service. This will assure neutrality and a high level of acceptance among users and brings tangible results with respect to your compliance requirements. This will also mean that the evaluation cannot be disputed due to a definitive separation of the "preparation of evaluation criteria" and of "data collection".

Legal Process Management – Business Intelligence

"From A to Z": Ultimately the processed information and data always represent the result of an evaluation or derivation of decisions. In the interest of corporate lawyers and of the organization as a whole, where should the appropriate value be placed:

  • Simple and fast preparation of listings and selections
  • Pre-defined reports with flexible data selection across subject matter (files, procedures, contracts, contacts, companies and follow-up) and organizational structures
  • Individual reports: Specifically regarding processes and information chains and also the distribution of tailored lists, evaluations or dashboards

The possibilities can be classified either as part of the standard solution or can also be used on a modular basis. But in any case, competent counsel is recommended for a specific set-up, since the use of modern technologies such as Business Objects or such allow convenient functions like drill-down or drill-across. And our competency team will be happy to assist you in this.

Management Summary

The approach for establishing an Legal Process Management System as a holistic process is derived from the practical requirements of your corporate lawyers. There are three recurring framework criteria to be evaluated and applied:

  1. To respond to the ever increasing demand for legal assistance and advice in the quickly changing corporate strategy and culture (globalization, regional differences in attitude, etc.)
  2. To sharpen your view and orientation toward costs and planning and purchasing of services and budget responsibility down to the attorney level
  3. To make decisions on whether the quantitative challenges are to be covered by external resources (Legal Process Outsourcing)

Corporate lawyers with LPM can obtain a very effective and consistent support in this process. Anyone who takes this forward-looking approach will create one of the fundamental prerequisites for being a strategic, long-term partner and adviser in legal questions, especially for Management. With transparency and financial arguments you can enhance the strengths of your corporate lawyers within the company organization by means of Legal Process Management.

Where sub-steps had previously been managed separately, now a consistent process is possible:  Information will move transparently along the corporate decision-making process, from selection through evaluation of results, in a secure format. The functioning and decision-making competency of corporate lawyers is professionally supported by LPM.

If corporate decisions of a legal nature are outsourced both with regard to quality and if necessary, with regard to quantity, then adherence to the following items can be assured and controlled with Legal Process Management:

  • Corporate strategy and compliance guidelines
  • Invoices for costs and services
  • Legal qualification and technical competency

For more than 30 years The Quality Group as entrepreneur in Enterprise Information Management and vendor of the LCM businessApp platform has offered an excellent mix of appropriate experts in the legal field for consulting with corporate jurists.

With LCM your company will achieve the legally required balance-sheet and audit compliance.

You want more information?

Please contact us!
We look forward to hearing from you.

contact form

LCM Legal Process Management

Der ganzheitliche Ansatz für die Optimierung der Geschäftsprozesse zwischen Rechtsabteilungen und Anwaltskanzleien

Die Mandatierung externer Rechtsanwälte ist im Unternehmensprozess eine Herausforderung. Einerseits gilt es, den steigenden Kostendruck in den Rechtsabteilungen,  anderseits der erwarteten Qualität und Qualifikation für das jeweilige Mandat, gerecht zu werden. Maßstäbe für die Entscheidung sind:

  • lösungseffiziente, juristisch sachgerechte Beratung,
  • termingerechte und enge Kommunikation
  • Hohe Kosteneffizienz und Kontrolle.

Legal Process Management (LPM) unterstützt und steuert diesen Prozess umfassend. Dabei können Maßnahmen entwickelt werden, die als ein echter Treiber oder Katalysator für mehr Kostenkontrolle bei gleicher oder höherer Qualität sorgen. Eine nachhaltige Kostenreduktion ist garantiert!

Mit der Entscheidung zum Outsourcing ist der dauerhafte Prozess von der „Auswahl – Qualitätskontrolle – Überwachung“  zu etablieren. Mit Legal Process Management können die Unternehmensjuristen diesen Prozess mit geeigneten Informationen nachhaltig umsetzen und unter wirtschaftlichen Aspekten bewerten. Gemäß den praktischen Erfordernissen:

erfassen – steuern – realisieren – bewerten

wurden einzelne Module in einer Lösung für diesen zusammenhängenden Prozess integriert, mit einer flexiblen Berechtigungssteuerung für eine übergreifende Rollen oder User-Steuerung versehen und mit modernen Rating- und Auswertungsfunktionen ergänzt.

Im Einzelnen sind in das Best Practice LCM Legal Process Management folgende Prozessschritte integriert:

Legal Process Management – Mandatsakte

Beginnend mit der Anlage einer Mandatsakte mit den spezifischen Merkmalen zur Beschreibung eines Mandats oder Auftrages wird die Grundlage für die lückenlose Informationskette im LPM gelegt. Dabei werden nicht nur die typischen Stammdaten des Auftraggebers erfasst, sondern die für den späteren Prozess notwendigen Verlinkungen zu

  • Auswahlkriterien zu Kanzleien
  • Kategorien der notwendigen Expertisen
  • Rechts- und abrechnungsrelevante Beziehungen (Versicherung, Beihilfe, etc.)

Legal Process Management - Lawyer DataBase

Die Verwaltung von externen Anwälten in einer zentralen Datenbank erleichtert die Auswahl eines Anwalts im Beratungsfalle erheblich. Es können beliebig viele Anwaltskanzleien und deren Anwälte strukturiert angelegt, einzelne Fachgebiete inkl. des jeweiligen Know-how-Grades zugeordnet und entsprechende Kosten pro Anwalt verwaltet werden. Gleichzeitig ist es möglich, die anwaltliche Leistung pro Beratungsfall und Fachgebiet zu bewerten. So wird das Finden, Selektieren und gegebenenfalls die Beauftragung einen Anwalts z. B.

  • in Deutschland,
  • der Stadt Frankfurt,
  • mit dem Fachgebiet „Trademarks“,
  • dem Know-how-Grad „Experte“,
  • Stundensätzen zwischen 300 und 500 EUR/h
  • und einem Rating >=x

erheblich vereinfacht. Damit ist die nachhaltige Grundlage für alle anwaltlichen Beziehungen aus Unternehmenssicht gewährleistet und auswertbar.

Legal Process Management – Fallakte

Die Fallakte ist eine auf verschiedene Formen für Rechtsstreitigkeiten ausgerichtete Möglichkeit, Informationen, Dokumente, Termine, Vorlagen und Beziehungen in einer jederzeit strukturierten Form abzulegen. So sind spezielle Aktentypen für z. B. Zivilprozesse, Schadensfälle oder Markenrechtsprozesse mit ihren speziellen Rubriken als Vorlagen schon vorhanden. Damit kann systemseitig die Akte auf Vollständigkeit von Daten, Parameter und Informationen geprüft werden. Dies erleichtert und vermindert Zeitaufwände bei der Prozessvorbereitung in Form von Aktenrecherche, Dokumentenvergleich und Stammdatenanalyse. Ob Akten, Dokumente und Verträge - alle Sachverhalte können erfasst, verwaltet und ausgewertet werden.

Besonders wichtig ist die Darstellung und Aufstellung sämtlicher Aktiv- und Passivprozesse mit dem entsprechenden Streitwert oder der Prozesse, die von grundsätzlicher Bedeutung für das Unternehmen sind. Gerade an dieser Stelle ist die Verbindung zu dem integrierten Risikomanagement von Bedeutung, um zu erwartenden Kosten (Fallkosten, zusätzliche Beratung, Revisionen, Prozessverzögerungen, etc.) schon im Vorfeld, aber auch immer wieder interaktiv im Prozess, zu erfassen, zu bewerten und eventuell notwendige interne Entscheidungen mit Fakten und Informationen zu unterstützen.

Legal Process Management – Leistungsplanung/-check

Je nach Vertragsgestaltung wird die Leistungsbemessung und -berechnung in monatlichen oder aufwandsrelevanten Zyklen von der Anwaltskanzlei erstellt und vom Unternehmen geprüft. Dabei können die Vorgaben mit Leistungszeiträumen oder der Aufwandsplanung im System mit den gemeldeten Aufwänden verglichen und geprüft werden. Durch schnelle Reports ist die Bestätigung der Leistungen schnell und einfach kommunizierbar und nachhaltig für die Gesamtbetrachtung abrufbar.

Legal Process Management – Rating

Wie von eBay, Amazon oder anderen Ratingsystemen bekannt, können Sie sich anhand von selbstgestalteten Kriterien und Punktsystemen Ihre persönlichen Bewertungskategorien erstellen und durch Ihre Organisation bewerten lassen. Der individuelle Ansatz und die strukturierte Möglichkeit sogenannte „harte“ und „weiche“ Kriterien bereitzustellen, ist die Basis eines fall-, branchen- oder leistungsunabhängigen Beurteilungsschemas. Damit wird Neutralität und hohe Akzeptanz bei den Anwendern gesichert und bringt messbare Ergebnisse gemäß Ihren Compliance Anforderungen. Dies beinhaltet auch, dass die Unanfechtbarkeit der Bewertung durch eine klare Trennung von der „Erstellung der Bewertungskriterien“ und der „Datenerhebung“ gegeben ist.

Legal Process Management – Business Intelligence

Von A bis  Z“: Am Ende stehen immer die aufbereiteten Informationen und Daten als Ergebnisse zur Beurteilung oder Ableitung von Entscheidungen. Worauf sollte besonders im Interesse der Unternehmensjuristen als auch der Organisation entsprechend Wert gelegt werden:

  • einfache und schnelle Listenauswahl und Selektierung
  • vordefinierte Reports mit flexiblen Datenselektionen über Objekte (Akten, Vorgänge, Verträge, Kontakte, Firmen bis zu Wiedervorlagen) und Organisationsstrukturen hinweg
  • individuelle Reports: speziell auf die Prozesse und Informationsketten sowie die Verteiler abgestimmte Listen, Auswertungen oder Dashboards

In ihrer Abstufung sind die Möglichkeiten entweder Teil der Standardlösung oder können modular zusätzlich zur Anwendung kommen. Eine kompetente Beratung ist auf jeden Fall bei der individuellen Gestaltung empfehlenswert, da durch den Einsatz von modernen Technologien wie Business Objects o.ä. auch so komfortable Funktionen wie Drill-Down oder Drill-Across möglich sind. Hierfür stehen Ihnen unsere Kompetenzteams gern zur Verfügung.

Management Summary

Der Ansatz, ein LPM System als gesamtheitlichen Prozess zu etablieren, folgt aus den praktischen Anforderungen der Unternehmen an ihre Juristen. Dabei sind drei, stets wiederkehrende, Rahmenkriterien zu bewerten und anzuwenden:

  1. Sich den immer mehr zunehmenden Anfragen und Rechtshilfeersuchen in den sich schnell ändernden Unternehmensstrategien und -kulturen (Internationalisierung, regionale Mentalitätsunterschiede, etc.) zu stellen
  2. Den Blick der Kostenorientierung sowie Leistungsplanung und -erfassung und Budgetverantwortung bis auf Anwaltsebene stets zu schärfen
  3. Sich der Entscheidung, ob die quantitativen Herausforderungen mit externen Mitteln (Legal Process Outsourcing) zu erfüllen sind, zu stellen

In diesem Prozess können die Unternehmensjuristen mit Legal Process Management eine sehr effektive und nachhaltige Unterstützung erhalten. Wer sich diesem Ansatz zukunftsorientiert stellt wird eine der Grundvoraussetzungen schaffen, um besonders dem Management ein strategisch langfristig orientierter Partner und Berater in Rechtsfragen zu sein. Mit Transparenz und wirtschaftlichen Argumenten können die Stärken der Unternehmensjuristen in der Unternehmensorganisation noch deutlicher durch LPM sichtbar gemacht werden.
 
Wo Teilschritte bisher separat gemanagt wurden, ist jetzt ein durchgängiger Prozess möglich. Informationen werden transparent am Entscheidungsprozess des Unternehmens entlang, von der Auswahl bis zur Beurteilung der Ergebnisse, in gesicherter Form abgelegt. Die Arbeitsweise und Entscheidungskompetenz der Unternehmensjuristen wird durch LPM professionell unterstützt.
Werden dabei unternehmerische Entscheidungen mit juristischer Kompetenz in Qualität und bei Bedarf in Quantität ausgelagert, dann ist mit Legal Process Management die Einhaltung der

  • Unternehmensstrategie und Compliance Richtlinien
  • Kosten- und Leistungsansprüche
  • juristische Qualifikation und Fachkompetenz

gesichert und steuerbar.
 
Die Quality Group bietet hierfür seit mehr als 30 Jahren im Enterprise Information Management als Anbieter der businessApp platform LCM und besonders mit entsprechenden Experten im Bereich Legal bei der Beratung von Unternehmensjuristen eine exzellente Mischung.

Mit LCM erreichen sie für ihr Unternehmen, die gesetzlich geforderte Bilanz- und Revisionssicherheit.

Sie möchten mehr erfahren?

Dann sprechen Sie uns an!
Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Kontaktanfrage.

zum Kontaktformular