Data protection & GDPR

The topic of data protection is omnipresent: in the business sector as well as in the private sphere. In 2018, all companies will be faced with far-reaching changes in terms of data protection: From 25 May 2018, the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) of the European Union (EU) will also apply in Germany - a rule that applies throughout the EU. Under the new EU law, the previous Federal Data Protection Act (BDSG) and the EU Data Protection Directive (Directive 95/46 / EC), on which the BDSG is based, are no longer directly applicable.

The EU-GDPR standardizes the rules for the processing of personal data by private companies and public authorities across the EU. The aim is, on the one hand, to ensure the protection of personal data within the European Union and, on the other hand, to ensure the free movement of data within the European single market.

The most important topics, requirements and information in a compact form:

  • Greater involvement of the data protection officer, defining responsibilities 
  • Establishing a privacy impact assessment as a process 
  • Designing processes: Reporting obligations in the event of data breach
  • Shaping other processes: rights of the party concerned, information duties, etc. 
  • Documenting all processes
  • Adapting contract data processing (CDP) 
  • Reviewing the procedure index
  • For processors of orders: Creating a new list of processing activities
  • Establishing a training schedule
  • Documenting and evaluating technical and organisational measures (TOM) and defining responsibilities
  • Testing the effectiveness of the TOM, planning penetration tests and information security management
  • If necessary, planning the technical implementation of the rights of the parties concerned - information, data transferability, etc.
  • Reviewing forms and consents
  • Adapting data protection declaration, adjust web tracking if necessary

Your Data Protection Dashboard in the TQG businessApp platform

So how can you implement the EU-GDPR practically and with the necessary respect?
  1. Interpret the law for yourself and your organisation, define your individual requirements and draw up a short-term list of measures, as well as long-term organisational processes, with deadlines for monitoring compliance and, if necessary, a CIP. 
  2. According to the legal regulations, certain personal data must be stored in an audit-proof manner and protected against deletion and manipulation. A major innovation in the EU-GDPR is the “right to be forgotten”. It must therefore be possible to delete data, including links and references. An enterprise-wide, cross-departmental information (data) management solution in the sense of EIM (Enterprise Information Management) is a long-term, measurable investment for a future-orientated solution, which is above all modularly expandable to react to agile changes in your company's digital strategy (data protection is an important part of it!).
  3. When securing your data and compliance, it is usually advisable to rely on proven support. Consultancy firms and solution providers have prepared themselves well for the topic of EU-GDPR and positioned themselves with appropriate checklists and solutions. A good decision is for both consulting and the solution to come from a single source, such as the TQG businessApp platform, with an app as a data protection dashboard. Here you have contracts, documents, procedural control, persons in charge, cases and obligations to provide evidence/reporting, all clearly arranged in one app, configurable and expandable.

Comment piece

Digital change proves its status in dealing with the new GDPR - Respectful handling or alarmism: how sustainability, transparency and commitment can be put into practice.

Steffen Schaar, Member of the Management Board of The Quality Group GmbH, comments on the media excitement surrounding the upcoming GDPR and presents ideas for successfully meeting the challenges.

He writes: "To put it succinctly, “The benchmark is not the medium, but the employees are. Their actions, in the sense of transparent documentation, filing and compliance with organisational processes, allow the EU-GDPR to be properly anchored in companies”. That way, it is not a threat, but rather a benefit in the sense of data (protection), the careful handling of sensitive personal data, and also in relation to the deletion of data."

Read more

Datenschutz & EU-DSGVO

Das Thema Datenschutz ist allgegenwärtig: im Geschäftsbereich wie auch im privaten Umfeld. Im Jahr 2018 kommen auf alle Unternehmen weitreichende Änderungen bezüglich des Datenschutzes zu: Ab 25. Mai 2018 gilt auch in Deutschland die Datenschutzgrundverordnung (DSGVO) der Europäischen Union (EU) - eine Vorschrift, die in der ganzen EU gilt. Durch das neue EU-Recht gelten dann unmittelbar das bisherige Bundesdatenschutzgesetz (BDSG) und die EU-Datenschutzrichtlinie (Richtlinie 95/46/EG), auf der das BDSG basiert, nicht mehr. 

Durch die EU-DSGVO werden die Regeln für die Verarbeitung von personenbezogenen Daten durch private Unternehmen und öffentliche Stellen EU-weit vereinheitlicht. Ziel ist es, einerseits den Schutz von personenbezogenen Daten innerhalb der Europäischen Union sicherzustellen, und andererseits den freien Datenverkehr innerhalb des Europäischen Binnenmarktes zu gewährleisten.

Die wichtigsten Themen, Anforderungen und Informationen kompakter Form

  • Stärkere Einbindung des Datenschutzbeauftragten, Verantwortlichkeiten festlegen 
  • Datenschutz-Folgenabschätzung/Privacy Impact Assessment als Prozess etablieren 
  • Prozesse gestalten: Meldepflichten bei Datenpannen
  • Weitere Prozesse gestalten: Betroffenenrechte, Informationspflichten etc. 
  • Alle Prozesse dokumentieren
  • Auftragsdatenverarbeitungs-(ADV)Verträge anpassen
  • Verfahrensverzeichnis überprüfen
  • Für Auftragsverarbeiter: Neues Verzeichnis der Verarbeitungstätigkeiten erstellen
  • Schulungsplanung aufstellen
  • technische und organisatorische Maßnahmen (TOM) dokumentieren (lassen) und bewerten, Verantwortlichkeiten festlegen
  • Wirksamkeit der TOM prüfen, Penetrationstests und Informationssicherheits-management planen
  • Ggf. technische Umsetzung der Betroffenenrechte planen - Auskunft, Datenübertragbarkeit etc.
  • Formulare und Einwilligungen überprüfen
  • Datenschutzerklärung anpassen, ggf. Webtracking anpassen

Ihr Datenschutz Dashboard in der TQG businessApp platform

Wie können Sie die EU-DSGVO praktisch und mit dem notwendigen Respekt umsetzen?
  1. Interpretieren Sie für sich und Ihre Organisation das Gesetz, definieren Ihre individuellen Anforderungen und erarbeiten eine kurzfristige Maßnahmenliste sowie langfristige Organisationsabläufe mit Terminen zur Kontrolle der Einhaltung und ggfs. auch einen KVP 
  2. Nach den gesetzlichen Regelungen sind bestimmte personenbezogene Daten revisionssicher und mit Schutz vor Löschung und Manipulation zu verwahren. Eine wesentliche Neuerung in der EU-DSGVO ist das „Recht auf Vergessen werden“. Daten müssen also gelöscht werden können, ebenso Links und Verweise. Eine unternehmensweite, abteilungsübergreifende Informations-(Daten)Management-Lösung im Sinne von EIM (Enterprise Information Management) ist eine langfristig, messbare Investition für eine zukunftsorientierte Lösung, die vor allem modular ausbaufähig für die agilen Veränderungen Ihres Unternehmens bei der digitalen Strategie (Datenschutz ist ein wichtiger Teil davon!) ist.
  3. Bei der Sicherstellung Ihrer Daten und deren Einhaltung ist es meistens ratsam auf bewährte Unterstützung zu bauen. Beratungsunternehmen und Lösungsanbieter haben sich auf das Thema EU-DSGVO gut vorbereitet und mit entsprechenden Checklisten und Lösungen positioniert. Eine gute Entscheidung ist es, wenn Beratung und Lösung aus einem Haus kommt, wie z. B. die TQG businessApp platform mit einer App als „Datenschutz-Dashboard“. Hier haben Sie Verträge, Dokumente, Verfahrenskontrolle, Verantwortliche, Fälle und Nachweispflichten/Reporting übersichtlich in einer App, konfigurier- und erweiterbar. 

Kommentar

Der digitale Wandel beweist seinen Status im Umgang mit der neuen DSGVO – Respektvoller Umgang oder Panikmache: Wie Nachhaltigkeit, Transparenz und Verbindlichkeit in der Praxis gelebt werden können

In einem Kommentar äußert sich Steffen Schaar, Mitglied der Geschäftsleitung von The Quality Group GmbH, zur medialen Aufregung rund um die kommende DSGVO und präsentiert Ideen, den An- und Herausforderungen erfolgreich zu begegnen.

So schreibt er beispielsweise: "Plakativ gesagt: „Nicht das Medium ist der Maßstab, sondern die Mitarbeiter sind es. Deren Handeln im Sinne transparenter Dokumentation, Ablage und Einhaltung von Organisationsprozessen lässt die EU-DSGVO ordnungsgemäß in den Unternehmen verankern“. Dann ist sie keine Bedrohung, sondern vielmehr Nutzen im Sinne von Daten(schutz), sorgfältigem Umgang mit sensiblen Personendaten, und auch in Bezug der Löschung von Daten."

Zum Kommentar

Sie möchten mehr erfahren?

Dann sprechen Sie uns an!
Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Kontaktanfrage.

zum Kontaktformular